Series 201 - ANU Academic Advisory Committee minutes

Identity area

Reference code



ANU Academic Advisory Committee minutes


  • 7 Aug 1947 - 8 Jun 1951 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

0.2 m (2 type 2 boxes)

Context area

Name of creator

(1947 - 1951)

Biographical history

In April 1947, the ANU Interim Council invited Sir Howard Florey, Professor ML Oliphant, Professor WK Hancock and Professor Raymond Firth, who all held senior academic positions in the United Kingdom, to form the Academic Advisory Committee. The Committee was formed in order to advise on the preliminary action required to establish the University and plan its internal structure. In March and April of 1948, the Interim Council and Academic Advisory Committee met at the Institute of Anatomy and agreed that the first objective of the University was to be the establishment of the four Research Schools: the John Curtin School of Medical Research, Research School of Physical Sciences, Research School of Social Sciences, and the Research School of Pacific Studies. The Committee met regularly from 1947 to 1951, alternating between the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology and All Souls College at Oxford. When Hancock resigned in 1949, he was replaced by Professor KC Wheare.

Content and structure area

Scope and content

The Academic Advisory Committee was appointed by the Interim Council to provide advice on the establishment of the ANU. The initial members were Sir Howard Florey, Professor Keith Hancock (replaced by Professor KC Weare in 1949), Professor Mark Oliphant (till 1950) and Professor Raymond Firth and they met in Oxford. The original minutes are signed. A reference set of the minutes (Box 2) will be issued in the reading room.


System of arrangement


Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

A reference set of the minutes (Box 2) will be issued in the reading room.

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Index within the volume of minutes

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Professor Raymond Firth's papers are held by the British Library of Political and Economic Science at the London School of Economics

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Dates of creation revision deletion

Prepared by Maggie Shapley on 31 July 2007




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places