Standing Committee

Identity area

Type of entity

University unit

Authorized form of name

Standing Committee

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1951 - 2000


The Standing Committee of the Australian National University Council was provided for by section 24 of the Australian National University Act 1946 and was delegated with the authority for much of the routine management of the University. It was appointed in 1951, first meeting on 13 July that year. The Vice-Chancellor originally chaired the meetings but from 1971 the Act was amended and the Pro-Chancellor took on this role. Its membership of 7-9 Council members was largely of University officers. The Act was further amended in 1991, removing reference to the Standing Committee, although it continued to meet less frequently until June 2000.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

university administration

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Australian National University annual reports and calendars

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC