Deposit Z262 - Manchester Unity, Victoria Metropolitan Lodges deposit

Open original digital objects

Identity area

Reference code



Manchester Unity, Victoria Metropolitan Lodges deposit


  • 1828 - 1999 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

64 m

Context area

Name of creator

(1840 - 1993)

Administrative history

Manchester Unity Independent Order of Oddfellows (MUIOOF) had its origins in Manchester, England. It was established in Melbourne on 7 December 1840 when Augustus Greeves, a member of the MUIOOF in England, migrated to Australia and formed the first lodge, Australia Felix Lodge, with journalist Thomas Strode. By the late nineteenth century, Manchester Unity had an extensive network of lodges in metropolitan and country Victoria. The Society was governed by its Annual Moveable Conference (AMC) which, as its name implies, was held in a different Victorian country centre each year. Lodges sent delegates to the AMC, where they voted on policies and rules, and elected the new Board of Directors for the coming year. In 1993 Manchester Unity (Victoria) merged with the Australian Natives Association to form Australian Unity Friendly Society Limited, now known as Australian Unity Limited.

Content and structure area

Scope and content

The deposit consists of records from the Head Office and Victorian metropolitan lodges including minutes, reports, conference papers and programme, war savings certificates, registers, correspondence, specifications and plans re MUIOOF Building, financial records, rules and regulations, cash books, visitors books, ledgers, newspaper cuttings, anniversary and souvenir records, membership registration books, records of sickness, declarations, funds remittance schedules, certificates, circulars, printed material, map, dispensations, photographs and presentation certificates. Also includes minute books of the Oakleigh United Friendly Societies Dispensary and printed material from friendly societies.

Colligwood District records include: Abbotsford Lodge (formerly Barkly Lodge); Boundary / Bundoora Lodge; Collingwood Lodge; Eltham Lodge; Hand of Friendship Lodge; Heidelberg Lodge; John Jordan / Fitzroy John Jordan Lodge; King George / Fairfield Lodge; Loyal Ivanhoe/Good Samaritan Lodge; Northcote Lodge; Reservoir/ Loyal Edward Lees; Preston / Preston John Jordan Lodge; Union Lodge; West Preston Lodge.

North Yarra District records include: Charles Whiting Junior Lodge; DA Bremmer Junior Lodge; Footscray Lodge; Newport Lodge; Solway Lodge; Sunshine Lodge; West Footscray / Yarraville / Jubilee Lodge; Williamstown Lodge; Wyndham / Werribee Lodge.

Port Phillip District records include: Albert Lodge; Australian Felix Lodge; Brittania Lodge; Broadford Lodge; Broadmeadows Lodge; Loyal Carlton Lodge; Cornucopia Lodge; Diamond Creek Lodge; Doutta Galla Lodge; Loyal East Brunswick Albion Lodge; Glenroy Lodge; Hope of Richmond Lodge and Industry Lodge (Amalgamated and named Richmond Lodge); Kensington Lodge; Kilmore Lodge; London Lodge; Loyal Australia Felix Lodge; Macedon Lodge; Melbourne Lodge; Merlynston Pride of the North Lodge; Pascoe Vale Lodge; Rose of Brunswick Lodge; Studley Lodge and Hope of Richmond Lodge (Amalgamated); Victoria Lodge; West Brunswick Lodge; Yarra Glen Lodge; Yering Lodge (later Yarra Glen).

Sale District: Toongabbie Lodge

South Melbourne District records inlcude: Boronia Lodge; Bentleigh Lodge (Moorabbin until 1953); Carnegie Lodge (formerly known as Patterson Lodge, name changed between 1933 and 1941); Chelsea Lodge; Cheltenham Lodge; Dunstan Lodge; Elsternwick Lodge/ Balaclava; Emerald Lodge; Frankston Lodge; Galatea / South Yarra Lodge; Hampton Lodge; Lodge of Good Intent; Loyal Armadale Lodge (formerly O J Orr); Loyal Cheltenham Lodge; Loyal Moorabbin Lodge (Bentleigh from 1953); Loyal Oakleigh Dunstan Lodge; Loyal Oakleigh Lodge; Loyal Prince Alfred Lodge; Mentone Lodge; Minerva / Middle Park Lodge; Mordialloc Lodge; Morington Lodge; Phillip Island Lodge; Port Melbourne Lodge; Prince Alfred Lodge; Prince of Wales / Balaclava Prince of Wales Lodge; Sandringham Lodge; Sommerville Lodge; Homes for the Aged Auxiliary Committee.

Warragul District records include: Dandenong Lodge; Drouin Lodge; Jindivick Lodge; Longwarry Lodge; Nerrim Lodge; Warragul Lodge.

Yarra Yarra District records include: Ashburton Lodge; Balwyn Lodge; Blackburn Lodge; Boroondara Lodge; Box Hill Lodge; Burwood Lodge; Camberwell Lodge; Charles Dalley / Croydon Lodge; District Auxiliary; Doncaster Lodge; Healesville Lodge; Kew Lodge; Kew William Wollard Junior Lodge; Lilydale Lodge; Mitcham Lodge; Powelltown Lodge; Surrey Hills Lodge; Tunstall Lodge; Warburton Lodge; Yarra Junction Lodge.


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Researchers must sign an access agreement

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Box list

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

NBAC Z87; NBAC Z190; NBAC Z192; NBAC Z227

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Dates of creation revision deletion

Entered from deposit description on 25 June 2012




digital objects (Master) rights area

digital objects (Reference) rights area

digital objects (Thumbnail) rights area

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places