Deposit E143 - Fourth Division Postmasters', Postal Clerks' and Telegraphists' Union deposit

Identity area

Reference code



Fourth Division Postmasters', Postal Clerks' and Telegraphists' Union deposit


  • 1945 - 1967 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

0.7 m

Context area

Name of creator

(1912 - 1967)

Biographical history

The Australian Commonwealth Post and Telegraph Officers' Association was formed in 1912, and changed its name to the Australian Postal Assistants' Union in 1917. In 1926 it was renamed the Fourth Division Postmasters', Postal Clerks' and Telegraphists' Union, the term 'Fourth Division' referring to the lowest-paid division of the Commonwealth Public Service. It remained an autonomous body until amalgamating with the Australian Third Division Telegraphists' and Postal Clerks' Union, effective from 19 February 1967, to form the Union of Postal Clerks and Telegraphists.

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Minutes of meetings of Executive Council and Victorian, Queensland, South Australian, New South Wales, Tasmanian and Western Australian Branches, 1957-1966, conference papers, correspondence and constitution and rules.


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Researchers must sign an access agreement

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Dates of creation revision deletion

Entered from deposit description 12 December 2012




Accession area

Related subjects

Related genres

Related places