ANU Faculty of Arts

Identity area

Type of entity

University unit

Authorized form of name

ANU Faculty of Arts

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1960 -


The Faculty of Arts was inherited from Canberra University College when CUC amalgamated with the Australian National University in 1960 and offered undergraduate courses in the School of General Studies, which was renamed The Faculties from 1980. In July 2000, the Departments of Archaeology and Anthropology, Art History and Visual Studies, Classical and Modern European Languages, English and Theatre Studies, History, Linguistics, Philosophy, Political Science and Sociology, and the Centre for Women’s Studies were abolished and four schools created: the School of Archaeology and Anthropology, the School of Humanities, the School of Language Studies, and the School of Social Sciences. In 2006, the Faculty of Arts was grouped with Research Schools, Faculties and Centres into the College of Arts and Social Sciences.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Teaching and learning

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 4 November 2015




Australian National University Annual reports

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC