Cambridge Australia Trust

Identity area

Type of entity


Authorized form of name

Cambridge Australia Trust

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Cambridge Australia Scholarships Limited
  • Australian Committee of the Cambridge Commonwealth Trust

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1983 - 2010


The Australian Committee of the Cambridge Commonwealth Trust was inaugurated at a meeting at Yarralumla convened by HRH the Prince of Wales in March 1983. Sir Mark Oliphant was appointed the first Chairman but resigned after a few months and was followed by Hon. Peter Howson who remained in the position until 1996. The Cambridge Australia Trust, as it became known, encouraged donations particularly from Cambridge graduates to fund scholarships for Australian students who wished to study at Cambridge University in England. Early donors to the trust included Kerry Packer of Australian Consolidated Press and Coles Myer Limited. Its funds are managed through the Australian National University. The association was incorporated in 2010 as Cambridge Australia Scholarships Limited, a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

student services

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Revised from deposit description on 7 October 2015




Cambridge Australian Scholarships website, (accessed on 7 October 2015)

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC