Australian Bank Employees' Union

Identity area

Type of entity

Trade union

Authorized form of name

Australian Bank Employees' Union

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1978 - 1991


The Australian Bank Officials' Association changed its name to the Australian Bank Employees' Union in 1978. In July 1991 it amalgamated with the other major player in the banking and insurance industries, the Australian Insurance Employees' Union to create the Finance Sector Union of Australia. Three smaller unions also amalgamated: the AMP Society Staff Association, Trustee Companies Officers' Association and Wool Brokers' Staff Association. In March 1994 the FSU was further strengthened with the amalgamation of the Commonwealth Bank Officers' Association.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Representation for bank employees

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Created by Sarah Lethbridge on 4 October 2012.




Australian Trade Union Archives

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC